Nashville Stampede Defeat Ariat Texas Rattlers By One Ride Score on Opening Night of PBR Team Series Action in Kansas City, Missouri

Posted by

Nashville Stampede: 170.75
Ariat Texas Rattlers: 83

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – In the opening game of competition for the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Team Series debut in Kansas City, Missouri, the Nashville Stampede edged the Ariat Texas Rattlers by one ride score to earn an early victory during PBR Outlaw Days. The Nashville Stampede were first to strike in the bottom of the first frame. Following a buckoff for the Rattlers by Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland, Australia), the Stampede led off with their franchise player, 2018 PBR World Champion Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil), who conquered Whip (Obernagel/Sho-Me Rodeo) for a game-best 85.75 points.

during the first day of PBR Teams event in Kansas City MO. Photo by Andy Watson / Bull Stock Media

The Rattlers, however, were quick to answer when, in the next out, opening-round draft pick Cody Jesus (Window Rock, Arizona) converted atop Drago (Jeb Fredericks/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger) for 83 points, avenging a buckoff from the 2022 individual season and bringing his team within 2.75 points of the game lead. After Joao Henrique Lucas (Bastos, Brazil) was unable to extend the Stampede’s lead, the door was open for Rafael Jose de Brito (Potirendaba, Brazil) to continue the Rattlers’ momentum and give them their first lead. However, Brito was no match for Cousin Eddy (Lazy S4 Cattle/Shuler/Samford), brought down in a quick 3.75 seconds. In what would prove to be the game-winning out in the bottom of the third frame, Fernando Henrique Novais (Pereira Barreto, Brazil) covered Forbidden Fruit (Frihauf Cattle Co.) for 85 points. Following the whistle signaling a qualified ride, the matchup ended in a grisly wreck. After Novais was carried out of the arena, no rider from either team would deliver another qualified ride, allowing the Stampede to win their second game of the young season, defeating the Rattlers 170.75-83. 

Now 2-1 in regular-season play, the Stampede will face the hometown favorite Kansas City Outlaws on Saturday, August 6, while the 0-3 Rattlers will seek their first win against the Carolina Cowboys.

PBR Outlaw Days continues Saturday, August 6 at 6:45 p.m. CT.

PBR RidePass on PlutoTV will exclusively broadcast LIVE the second day of action for PBR Outlaw Days beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, August 6. PBR RidePass on PlutoTV will offer replays of all the PBR Team Series action from Cheyenne, Wyoming. Check for the latest programming schedule.

CBS Sports Network will televise LIVE all the action from PBR Outlaw Days on Sunday, August 7, with coverage beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET.


Here are the current Team standings for the Kansas City PBR Team Series event after the opening day of competition for PBR Outlaw Days:

  1. Carolina Cowboys, 1-0-0
  2. Oklahoma Freedom, 1-0-0
  3. Nashville Stampede, 1-0-0
  4. Arizona Ridge Riders, 1-0-0
  5. Missouri Thunder, 0-1-0
  6. Ariat Texas Rattlers, 0-1-0
  7. Kansas City Outlaws, 0-1-0
  8. Austin Gamblers, 0-1-0


Here are the current Team standings for the regular season after the opening day of competition for PBR Outlaw Days in Kansas City:

  1. Carolina Cowboys, 2-1-0-8
  2. Arizona Ridge Riders, 2-1-0-6
  3. Nashville Stampede, 2-1-0-3
  4. Missouri Thunder, 2-1-0-1
  5. Austin Gamblers, 1-2-0-7
  6. Oklahoma Freedom, 1-2-0-5
  7. Kansas City Outlaws, 1-2-0-2
  8. Ariat Texas Rattlers, 0-3-0-4


Here are the game matchups for the second day of action for PBR Outlaw Days on Saturday, August 6:

Austin Gamblers @ Missouri Thunder

Ariat Texas Rattlers @ Carolina Cowboys

Oklahoma Freedom @ Arizona Ridge Riders

Nashville Stampede @ Kansas City Outlaws


For more information about Texas Rattlers, visit Rattlers on Facebook, or @TexasRattlers_ on Instagram and Twitter


Following each game, photo and video assets of the Ariat Texas Rattlers will be made available. Remote interviews with team leadership, including Head Coach Cody Lambert, and competing riders will also be made available upon request. 


Under the leadership of General Manager, Mark George the Texas Rattlers, coached by PBR co-founder Cody Lambert, are owned by the Fisher Family, founders of Gap Inc., one of the founding team owners for the launch of the PBR Team Series. Their team will be based in Fort Worth, Texas, competing at Dickies Arena for their inaugural Rattlers Days homestand on October 7-9, the 9th event of the league’s 10-event 2022 PBR Team Series regular season. For decades, the Fisher Family have made investments in footwear and apparel, real estate, and timberland and forest products, and education and sports, including ownership of the Oakland Athletics and San Jose Earthquakes. Through its Ariat brand, the official boot of PBR, the Fisher family have been longtime supporters of PBR. The family is actively involved with a number of philanthropic causes, including SFMOMA, The KIPP Foundation, and UCSF.


The PBR Team Series is an elite new league that will feature the world’s top bull riders competing on teams in five-on-five bull riding games during an 11-event season beginning in July and culminating in a team championship at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas November 4-6.  During the 2022 season, each of the eight teams representing teams in Austin, TX; Fort Worth, TX; Glendale, AZ; Kansas City, MO; Nashville, TN; Oklahoma City, OK; Ridgedale, MO; and Winston-Salem, NC will host a three-day homestand.  There will also be neutral site games in Cheyenne, WY and Anaheim, CA. To determine team rosters, the league held a rider draft on May 23 prior to start of the 2022 season among any bull riders who have declared for the draft during a league eligibility window. The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of professional bull riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events will be staged in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day. Each game will feature five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters will be comprised of seven riders on the core roster and three practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders will be declared the winner of each game. The event winner will be the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tie-breaker to determine final event standings. All PBR Team Series events will be carried on either the CBS Television Network, streaming live on Paramount+, CBS Sports Network, or RidePass on Pluto TV.



Leave a Reply