Ariat Texas Rattlers Ride Three Bulls to Break Out and Upset the Carolina Cowboys to Earn Team’s First Game Win

Posted by

Ariat Texas Rattlers: 257.25
Carolina Cowboys: 0

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Ariat Texas Rattlers, who had not ridden more than one bull in any game this season, rode three tonight in Kansas City to win their first PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Team Series game this season.

Punctuated by a score for a 47-year-old PBR World Champion, the Rattlers stunned the then-No. 1 Carolina Cowboys, 257.25-0. Riding for the Rattlers in the team’s first out inside T-Mobile Center Saturday night, Rafael Jose de Brito (Potirendaba, Brazil) quickly put the Fort Worth-based outfit on the board, covering Little Voodoo Jacket (Lari Crane/Gene Owen) for a crucial 87 points. While the Carolina Cowboys kept their roster unchanged from the start of regular-season competition, with reigning PBR World Champion Daylon Swearingen (Piffard, New York) remaining the roster’s leadoff rider, Head Coach Jerome Davis’s strategy would not work tonight. Although Swearingen had yet to buck off in four outs in PBR Team Series competition, he was brought down in a close 6.53 seconds by Nomad Max (Crooked Crown Bucking Bulls/Braswell). Not missing a beat, the Ariat Texas Rattlers grew their lead as the second frame got underway.

First-round draft pick Cody Jesus (Window Rock, Arizona) was a dominant force atop Lone Survivor (Whitman Bucking Bulls/Jenkins Cattle Co.), scored 87 points and growing the Rattlers’ lead to 174 points. The Carolina Cowboys again failed to respond, with Ramon de Lima (Rio Branco, Brazil) brought down by Baby Gangster (Cooper/Scruggs Bucking Bulls) in a swift 3.18 seconds. With a two-ride lead, the Rattlers had the chance to clinch the game win in the third frame but fell just short after Australian sensation Brady Fielder (Clermont, Queensland, Australia) was awarded a re-ride in his initial showdown withBatter Up (Crooked Crown Bucking Bulls/Braswell Bucking Bulls). 

With the chance to change his team’s momentum, Mason Taylor (Maypearl, Texas) could not right the ship for the Cowboys, beaten by the unridden JoJo (Gene Owen Bucking Bulls) in a heartbreaking 7.46 seconds. The fourth frame then brought the second potentially game-winning out for the Rattlers, this time a showdown between 2002 PBR World Champion Ednei Caminhas (Indaiatuba, Brazil) and Dr. Campbell (Nancy Haverty/Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger). The 47-year-old was a picture of perfection atop the powerful animal athlete, bringing the Show Me State crowd to its feet as he reached the requisite 8 for a crucial 83.25 points. With the Cowboys having just two outs remaining, the Rattlers clinched the win with a combined 257.25 points from their three qualified rides. As the game progressed, no rider for either team was successful, with the final scoreboard reading 257.25-0 to bring the Rattlers their first victory. On the final day of competition for PBR Outlaw Days, the Rattlers (1-3) will look to continue their red-hot momentum when they play the Austin Gamblers (1-3), while the Cowboys (2-2) will attempt to reclaim their winning form when they take on the Oklahoma Freedom (1-3).

PBR Outlaw Days concludes Sunday, August 7 at 11:00 a.m. CT.

CBS Sports Network will televise LIVE all the action from PBR Outlaw Days on Sunday, August 7, with coverage beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET. PBR RidePass on PlutoTV will offer replays of all the PBR Team Series action from Kansas City, Missouri. Check for the latest programming schedule.


“First of all, I say thank you God and to all of the team behind me, pushing, yelling for me, and then all the crowd,” said Ariat Texas Rattlers’ Ednei Caminhas. “Age is just a number. I love bull riding; bull riding is my blood. I’m here because God put me back over here. If I’m feeling good, I’m going.” 


Here are the current Team standings for the Kansas City PBR Team Series event after the second day of competition for PBR Outlaw Days:

  1. Arizona Ridge Riders, 2-0-0
  2. Ariat Texas Rattlers, 1-1-0
  3. Oklahoma Freedom, 1-1-0
  4. Carolina Cowboys, 1-1-0
  5. Missouri Thunder, 1-1-0
  6. Nashville Stampede, 1-1-0
  7. Austin Gamblers, 0-2-0
  8. Kansas City Outlaws, 0-2-0


Here are the current Team standings for the regular season after the second day of competition for PBR Outlaw Days in Kansas City:

  1. Arizona Ridge Riders, 3-1-0-6
  2. Missouri Thunder, 3-1-0-1
  3. Carolina Cowboys, 2-2-0-8
  4. Nashville Stampede, 2-2-0-3
  5. Austin Gamblers, 1-3-0-7
  6. Oklahoma Freedom, 1-3-0-5
  7. Ariat Texas Rattlers, 1-3-0-4
  8. Kansas City Outlaws, 1-3-0-2


Here are the game matchups for the third, and final, day of action for PBR Outlaw Days on Sunday, August 7:

Oklahoma Freedom @ Carolina Cowboys

Austin Gamblers @ Ariat Texas Rattlers

Nashville Stampede @ Arizona Ridge Riders

Missouri Thunder @ Kansas City Outlaws


For more information about Texas Rattlers, visit Rattlers on Facebook, or @TexasRattlers_ on Instagram and Twitter


Under the leadership of General Manager, Mark George the Texas Rattlers, coached by PBR co-founder Cody Lambert, are owned by the Fisher Family, founders of Gap Inc., one of the founding team owners for the launch of the PBR Team Series. Their team will be based in Fort Worth, Texas, competing at Dickies Arena for their inaugural Rattlers Days homestand on October 7-9, the 9th event of the league’s 10-event 2022 PBR Team Series regular season. For decades, the Fisher Family have made investments in footwear and apparel, real estate, and timberland and forest products, and education and sports, including ownership of the Oakland Athletics and San Jose Earthquakes. Through its Ariat brand, the official boot of PBR, the Fisher family have been longtime supporters of PBR. The family is actively involved with a number of philanthropic causes, including SFMOMA, The KIPP Foundation, and UCSF.


The PBR Team Series is an elite new league that will feature the world’s top bull riders competing on teams in five-on-five bull riding games during an 11-event season beginning in July and culminating in a team championship at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas November 4-6.  During the 2022 season, each of the eight teams representing teams in Austin, TX; Fort Worth, TX; Glendale, AZ; Kansas City, MO; Nashville, TN; Oklahoma City, OK; Ridgedale, MO; and Winston-Salem, NC will host a three-day homestand.  There will also be neutral site games in Cheyenne, WY and Anaheim, CA. To determine team rosters, the league held a rider draft on May 23 prior to start of the 2022 season among any bull riders who have declared for the draft during a league eligibility window. The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of professional bull riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events will be staged in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day. Each game will feature five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters will be comprised of seven riders on the core roster and three practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders will be declared the winner of each game. The event winner will be the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tie-breaker to determine final event standings. All PBR Team Series events will be carried on either the CBS Television Network, streaming live on Paramount+, CBS Sports Network, or RidePass on Pluto TV.



Leave a Reply